Wiggins, Gordon, Parker are Naismith POY finalists

 Posted by at 4:26 PM on February 7, 2013
Feb 072013

Huntington Prep forward Andrew Wiggins is one of three finalists for the Naismith Player of the Year Award.
Photo: Matt Goins

Two Kentucky recruits are among the three finalists for the Naismith High School Player of the Year award.

Uncommitted seniors Andrew Wiggins and Aaron Gordon join Duke commitment Jabari Parker on the list of finalists.

The winner will be announced March 19.

UK signees Andrew and Aaron Harrison were on the Naismith “watch list” released in December. Noah Vonleh (Indiana) and Rondae Jefferson (Arizona) were also on that list, but did not make the group of finalists.

Previous winners include Kevin Love (2007), Dwight Howard (2004), LeBron James (2003), Kobe Bryant (1996) and Jason Kidd (1992).

UCLA’s Shabazz Muhammad was last year’s recipient of the award, which was first handed out in 1987.

Ron Mercer (1995) is the only Kentucky player to earn the honor.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.