Willis on talented list of Derby Classic participants

 Posted by at 2:07 PM on February 26, 2013
Feb 262013
UK commitment Derek Willis will play in the Derby Festival Classic on April 17 in Freedom Hall. File photo: Timothy D. Easley

UK commitment Derek Willis will play in the Derby Festival Classic on April 19 in Freedom Hall.
File photo: Timothy D. Easley

Kentucky commitment Derek Willis, two future Louisville Cardinals and three McDonald’s All-Americans highlight the list of players chosen to participate in this year’s Derby Festival Classic.

The rosters were announced Tuesday for the April 19 game in Freedom Hall.

With UK’s other five commitments selected for the McDonald’s All-American Game and the Jordan Brand Classic, Willis will be the only Wildcat in Louisville for the Derby Classic. High school seniors are allowed by NCAA rules to play in only two post-season all-star events.

Willis will be the first UK commitment to play in the game since Stacey Poole Jr. in 2010.

Louisville will be represented by Anton Gill and Akoy Agau, who will play on the team opposite Willis. Indiana has the most participants in this year’s game: Devin Davis, Luke Fischer, Stanford Robinson and Troy Williams, who at one time was being heavily recruited by Kentucky.

The three McDonald’s All-Americans are Keith Frazier (undecided), Jarrell Martin (LSU) and Jabari Bird (California). The rosters also include LSU’s Jordan Mickey, Tennessee’s Robert Hubbs and South Carolina’s Sindarius Thornwell.

The Black Team, which includes Willis and the four Indiana players, will be coached by Bullitt East’s Troy Barr.

Tickets are available for $11 and $16 at Ticketmaster.com or at the Freedom Hall box office. The game will be played at 7 p.m. April 19.

Admission to the Horseshoe Foundation Night of Future Stars is free with a ticket to the Derby Classic. The Future Stars event includes the slam dunk, 2-on-2 and three-point shooting competitions. There will be a one-hour autograph session after the event, with a two-item limit for signing. That event will be held April 18 at Floyd Central High School in Floyd Knobs, Ind.

WHITE TEAM: Akoy Agau (Louisville), Connor Frankamp (Kansas), Keith Frazier (undecided), Anton Gill (Louisville), Jarell Martin (LSU), Jordan Mickey (LSU), Robert Hubbs (Tennessee), Jajaun Johnson (Marquette), Rysheed Jordan (undecided), Austin Nichols (Memphis).

BLACK TEAM: Jabari Bird (California), Stevie Clark (Oklahoma State), Devin Davis (Indiana), Tyler Ennis (Syracuse), Luke Fischer (Indiana), Zak Irvin (Michigan), Sindarius Thornwell (South Carolina), Stanford Robinson (Indiana), Troy Williams (Indiana), Derek Willis (Kentucky).


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.