Two Kentucky signees make new Naismith watch list

 Posted by at 10:28 AM on February 6, 2020
Feb 062020



Kentucky basketball signees Brandon Boston and Terrence Clarke are among 10 semifinalists for the Naismith national player of the year award, the organization announced Thursday.

Uncommitted forward Greg Brown, who has Kentucky on his list of five finalists, also made the semifinal cut. The other seven players on the Naismith list are Scottie Barnes (Florida State), Sharife Cooper (Auburn), Cade Cunningham (Oklahoma State), Jalen Green (uncommitted), Evan Mobley (Southern Cal), Jaden Springer (Tennessee) and Jalen Suggs (Gonzaga).

Kentucky is the only school with two recruits in the final 10.

The Naismith list will be cut to five finalists on Feb. 20, and the award for the Naismith Boys High School Player of the Year will be announced March 10.

The Naismith award honoring the nation’s best high school basketball player has been around since 1987 but has been won only once by a Kentucky recruit — Ron Mercer in 1995. Last year’s honoree was Washington recruit Isaiah Stewart.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.